Thursday, 16th September 2021

24 local bodies elections on Monday

Dhaka, Oct 14 (BAN/ AD): On Monday elections to 24 local bodies will be held Election commission has confirmed. Election Commission has completed its preparation to arrange the balloting from 9am to 5pm. Elections to 8 upazila parishads, 2 municipalities and 14 union parishads, will be held in different districts on Monday.

Deputy Secretary Atiar Rahman of the commission has confirmed the Election Commission preparation to arrange the balloting from 9am to 5pm without any break. Deputy Secretary Atiar Rahman said out of the eight upazilas, he said, electronic voting machines (EVMs) instead of traditional ballot papers will be used in four upazilas — Chapainawabganj Sadar, Mehendiganj in Barisal, Maheshpur in Jhenaidah, and Kabirhat in Noakhali.

Election commission has informed that EVMs will also be used in a ward of each two municipalities and three union parishads. The remaining four upazilas where elections will be held are Sherpur Sadar, Atpara in Netrakona, Kotchandpur in Jhenaidah, and Satkania in Chittagong.

The two municipalities are Nabinagar in Brahmanbaria and Lalmohan in Bhola, while the 14 union parishads include four at Bagha upazila in Rajshahi, three at Naikhongchhari in Bandarban, two at Shahjadpur in Sirajganj, two at Daganbhuiyan in Feni, one each at Rupganj in Narayanganj, Jagannathpur in Sunamganj, and Boalkhali in Chittagong.

Top of page