Tuesday, 21st September 2021

33 out of 35 candidates in Presidential election loose deposits

Colombo, Nov 21 (BAN/ AD): As per EC sources 33 out of 35 candidates have lost their election deposits. Only 2 candidates were able to garner above 5 % vote share. 33 candidates failed to get the stipulated minimum 5 percent of the total votes cast.

The SLPP candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa who won the election polled 52.25 percent of total votes cast while the NDF candidate Sajith Premadasa who came second polled 41.99 percent of the total votes cast.

JVP leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake, third in the contest, also lost his deposit because he only mustered 3.16 percent of the total votes cast.

A candidate contesting the election from a registered political party had to make an election deposit of Rs. 50,000 while each independent candidate had to make a deposit of Rs. 75,000.

There were a total of 1,599,2096 registered voters at the Presidential election this year. Of this, only 1,338,7951, amounting to 83.72 per cent, cast their votes. Of this, 1,325,2499 or 98.99 percent were considered valid votes while 135,452 or 1.01 percent of the votes were rejected.

Top of page