Friday, 6th August 2021

9 new judges in the High Court division of the Supreme Court sworn in

Dhaka, Oct 22 (BAN/ AD): On Sunday 9 new judges took oath. The oath ceremony was administered by Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain at the Supreme Court Judges’ Lounge.

The new appointees are District and Session Judges Muhammad Mahbub-ul-Islam, Shahed Nuruddin and Md Akhtaruzzaman, Supreme Court (SC) Registrar General Dr Md Zakir Hossain, Advocates Md Mahmud Hasan Talukder, Kazi Ebadat Hossain, AKM Zahirul Haque, Deputy Attorney Generals KM Zahid Sarwar, and Kazi Zinat Hoque.

On Sunday Law Ministry issued a gazette notification regarding their appointment. President Md Abdul Hamid had appointed the judges for the next two years.

The appointment has hit with controversy as SC Bar Association’s secretary and BNP’s Joint Secretary Barrister AM Mahbub Uddin Khokon has accused that Shahed Nuruddin and Md Akhtaruzzaman are appointed because of their sentencing of Khaleda Zia and her son Tareque. Md Akhtaruzzaman had sentenced Khaleda Zia in an Anti Corruption Case while he was a lower court judge and Shahed Nuruddin had sentenced punishment for Tarique Rahman.

Top of page