Saturday, 18th September 2021

All 9 Easter Sunday bombers named by police

Colombo, May 2: Police today discloced all 9 suicide bombers name which rocked the nation killing around 253 people and injuring more than 500 people. All bombers assets will be confiscated as per anti-terror laws.

Two of the luxury hotels were bombed by two brothers from a wealthy Colombo family involved in spice exports.

One of the Shangri-La bombers was Zahran Hashim, the leader of the local jihadist group responsible for the attacks that were claimed by Isis. Hashim headed the National Thowheed Jamath (NTJ) which has since been banned. He attacked the Shangri-La in the company of fellow Islamist Ilham Ahmed Mohamed Ibrahim. Ilham’s elder brother Inshaf Ahmed was the man who bombed the nearby Cinnamon grand hotel.

The third hotel blast, the Kingsbury, was bombed by a man identified as Mohamed Azzam Mubarak Mohamed.

Local resident named Ahmed Muaz targeted St Anthony’s church. His brother has been arrested. The St Sebastian bomber was Mohamed Hasthun. The Christian Zion church in the eastern district of Batticaloa was hit by a local resident, Mohamed Nasser Mohamed Asad.

Abdul Latheef who had studied both in Britain and Australia, Targeted t a luxury hotel, but detonated his explosives at a guest house near the capital.

Top of page