Monday, 12th April 2021

Court awards death penalty to 9 BNP men for 1994 attack on Sheikh Hasina

 Dhaka, July 03 (BAN/ AD): In a case dating back to 1994 attack on current PM then opposition leader court today gave death penalty to 9 and life imprisonment to 25 others. A court in Pabna has handed down the death penalty to nine activists and leaders of Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) and sentenced 25 others to life term.

In presence of 33 accused acting judge of Additional District and Sessions Judge Court-1, Rostam Ali, gave the verdict. The court sentenced 13 others to a 10-year rigorous jail term.

The 9 persons convicted are : Former mayor and president of Ishwardi municipality unit BNP Moklesur Rahman Bablu, Pabna district unit BNP Liberation War Affairs Secretary AKM Aktaruzzaman, Ishwardi municipality unit BNP General Secretary Zakaria Pintu, Ishwardi municipality unit Jubo Dal President Mostofa Nur-e Alam, and BNP leaders Mahbubul Rahman Palash, Shamsul Alam, Shahidul Islam, Rezaul Karim, and Azizur Rahman. All nine are in police custody.

PM Hasina was attacked while she was travelling from Khulna to Syedpur through Ishwardi for party programs on September 23, 1994. Her train was attacked by crude bombs and set on fire. Police had named 52 persons as accused of which 5 are dead and 14 people are still absconding.

Top of page