Tuesday, 21st September 2021

Election Commission announces 3 elections by 2020

British Asia Network News

Sri Lanka: Mr. Mahinda Deshapriya, Election Commission Chairman announced yesterday there would be three elections within the next two years. He went on to state that the provincial council elections, the parliamentary elections and the presidential election would be completed by October 31, 2020 and pointed out that the term of office of the Election Commission would end on November 13, 2020.

He said this when addressing district executive grade public servants at the Ratnapura Divisional Secretariat. He also added, that the Election Commission was ready to hold any of the upcoming elections at any time Parliament or the Court orders it to do so.

Mr. Deshapriya said one of the reasons for delaying the elections to the PCs was because of the delay in finalising the delimitation committee report.

Top of page