Saturday, 18th September 2021

Free on arrival visa service: 10 more countries included

Colombo, July 24 (BAN/ AD): 10 additional countries have been included in free on arrival visa, this service was stopped after Easter Sunday attacks. On Wednesday government made announcement to extend this service to 10 more countries.

Earlier on-arrival Visa service on a free basis to visitors from Thailand, EU, UK, USA, Japan, Australia, South Korea, Canada, Singapore, New Zealand, Malaysia, Switzerland, Cambodia was started on trial basis to attract more tourists to Sri Lanka. The Cabinet of Ministers have previously granted approval to implement a pilot project.

Starting May 1 citizens of 39 nations were supposed to get free on arrival visa during the low tourist season. The visa on arrival pilot program was part of a larger initiative to increase tourist arrivals to the country during the six month off-season period from May to October. But after Easter Sunday attacks cabinet decided to temporarily halt its plans citing security reasons.

With the aim of promoting the influx of tourists as the situation in the country has returned to normal, the cabinet has granted approval to issue on-arrival visa to tourists from Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, Philippines, Russia, China, India and England in addition to the previously listed countries.

Top of page