Friday, 6th August 2021

Government planning to reintroduce Visa on arrival programme

Colombo, July 10 (BAN/ AD): The recently suspended free visa and visa on arrival programme is being planned to restart by the government from August 1 for 39 countries. This was revealed by Tourism Development Minister John Amaratunga.

Post Easter Sunday attacks the initiative which was to come into force from May 1 was suspended for security reasons. Minister said that the programme will be implemented as a trial for period of six months excluding India and China. Post success of trial run programme will be extended to China and India.

The minister emphasised that a monitoring system would be in place to prevent “undesirable people” entering the country. He added “We need a system to monitor who is arriving in Sri Lanka and to prevent criminals and other troublemakers entering the country.”

Following are 39 countries in trial programme: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States of America, Japan, Australia, South Korea, Canada, Singapore, New Zealand, Malaysia, Thailand and Switzerland.

Top of page