Sunday, 19th September 2021

President honours over 300 local inventors

HT Agency

Sri Lanka: In recognizing inventors across the country, the National Inventors Day celebrations 2018 and Presidential Awards Ceremony was held at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall (BMICH) on October 26.

The event organized by the Sri Lanka Inventors Commission (SLIC) was attended over 1,500 inventors where President Maithripala Sirisena graced as the chief guest.

Kottagodage Lakshman was named as the Presidential award-winning inventor for the year 2016 at this event.

Meanwhile, three best innovations under school, open and commercialized categories were given the Dasis award which is the highest award being presented to inventors in Sri Lanka. W. M. Jayawardhana won the Dasis award under commercialized category. A group invention done by R. M. Dharmadasa and C. H. Manoratnam won the Dasis award under open category while S. R. G. Udara Dewmika from MR/ Akurugoda K. V. won the junior Dasis award under school category.

More than 300 inventors were recognised with Gold, Silver and Bronze medals under aforementioned categories and also the ones who guided the inventors. Further to that, three selected innovations were given financial aid to begin commercial operation.

In 2016, President Maithripala Sirisena declared October 26 as the National Day of Inventors, in remembrance of the born day of the father of Sri Lanka’s Engineering industry, founding commissioner of the SLIC and well known civil engineer, Dr. A.N.S. Kulasinghe.

Commemorating this special day, elder son of Late Dr. Kulasinghe, Upul Kulasinghe along with the President, Commissioner of SLIC, subject minister, deputy minister and state minister cut a cake.

Those who received accolades were determined by an esteemed panel of judges appointed by the President covering 14 fields.

Science, Technology, Research, Skill Development, Vocational Training and Kandy Heritage Affairs Minister, Dr. Sarath Amunugama, State Minister, Lakshman Senevirathne, Deputy Minister Karunarathna Paranavithana, Commissioner of SLIC, Dr. Mahesh Edirisinghe and other distinguish guests participated at the event.


Top of page