Thursday, 23rd September 2021

SC dismisses petition filed against holding Elpitiya PS election

Colombo, Sep 25 (BAN/ AD): On Wednesday SC comprising 3 member bench dismissed petition filed against holding the Elpitiya Pradeshiya Sabha election. The petition was taken by Justices Vijith Malalgoda, Preethi Padman Surasena and Gamini Amarasekara.

SC decided to reject the petition without hearing it after long arguments as it found no reasonable legal basis to hear the petition. The petition was filed by three voters including Yeshan Nayanajith, a resident of Elpitiya.

The respondents of case were Election Commission Chairman Mahinda Deshapriya and the members of the Commission and the Returning Officer in charge of the Elpitiya Pradeshiya Sabha election. The petitioners alleged that dates for the election has been fixed without calling a meeting of the Elections Commission and scheduling a date for the election was therefore, against the law.

Elections for the 28-member Elpitiya Pradeshiya Sabha will be held on the 11th of October.

Top of page