Wednesday, 22nd September 2021

Sumanthiran: Tamils disliked Mahinda Rajapaksa so voted for Maithripala Sirisena in 2015

British Asia News Network

Sri Lanka: Tamil National Alliance MP Sumanthiran has said that the Tamils voted for the former minister Sarath Fonseka in 2010 and for the current President Maithripala Sirisena in 2015 not because they liked them but because they disliked the other presidential candidate Mahinda Rajapaksa.

He made this announcement at a function held to mark the death anniversary of former Batticaloa district MP Joseph Pararajasingham who was gunned down in 2005 during the Christmas Day Midnight Mass at St. Mary’s Cathedral, in Batticaloa.

Mr. Sumanthiran has also mentioned that the Tamils do not want Mr. Rajapaksa to return to power.

Top of page