Friday, 16th April 2021

UNP expels Sarath Fonseka, Ajith P Perera from working committee

Colombo, Jan 30 (BAN/ AD): As per resources Ajith P Perera and UNP national list MP Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka have been removed from the party’s Working Committee. The decision has been taken on charges of violating the party’s collective discipline.

Under the patronage of Party Leader Ranil Wickramasinghe working committee of the UNP met today at the Party Headquarters in Sirikotha. The tenure of the Working Committee elapsed on the 31st of December and reportedly new members have been appointed to the Committee yesterday (29).

Names of MP Ajith P Perera and Sarath Fonseka are excluded in the new committee and they will not be able to attend the UNP Working Committee meeting.

Top of page